Our Nest is Empty… It’s About To Be Someone Else’s Nest

Weeks Team Member Sherri Holzman invites you to follow along as she and her husband prepare for their next chapter:

Today was odd.

I offered the buyers of our home the opportunity to come back to measure, show it to parents, or just see it again. It’s been 3 weeks or so since they were here for their inspection. If they are
like me they are trying to remember exactly what it was like. They took me up on the offer and “the mom” came this morning to show her parents. It turns out she is a Kings graduate and wanted her children to be Knights.Scan016

She was very nice, sharing that she has two young children. Exactly what I was hoping for! I imagine they will spend countless hours in the pool and the finished basement will be the site for lots of play dates and sleepovers again.

I tried to stay out of their way, allowing them to envision her family here, not mine. It was so strange listening to them talk about what would go in each room and how to arrange things. At one point I couldn’t help but hear them debating where the dryer vented out; I had to step into the conversation. I answered some questions she had about cleaning products and how we did things.

I got the chance to tell them how to work the tricky door to the backyard. Told them the water faucet in the garage is soft water so if they wash their cars it won’t be spotty. We talked about how to turn the pool lights on. I showed them the cable outlets in the basement and the wiring we did for surround sound that we never used.

I am so glad I met them and know that nice people will be raising their family in the house I raised mine in. But it has left me a little emotional. So far I’ve talked about “the buyers” but other than their names I knew nothing about them. I hadn’t considered what changes they may make to “my house.” Today it hit me; this is not my house anymore.

Leave a comment